Additional Casting Announced for Williamstown Summer Season | Playbill

Regional News Additional Casting Announced for Williamstown Summer Season Micah Stock, Jayne Atkinson, and more join the 2017 lineup.
Micah Stock

Williamstown Theatre Festival has announced additional casting for its 2017 summer season.

As previously announced, the forthcoming season will begin June 27 on the Main Stage with Jen Silverman's new play, The Roommate, directed by Mike Donahue and featuring Golden Globe and Emmy Award winner S. Epatha Merkerson and Golden Globe and Emmy nominee Jane Kaczmarek. This will be followed by Sarah Ruhl’s 2005 Pulitzer Prize finalist comedy, The Clean House (July 19–29), starring Tony nominee Jessica Hecht and directed by Rebecca Taichmanm, as well as the new musical A Legendary Romance (August 3–20), with music and lyrics by Geoff Morrow, a book by Timothy Prager, and direction by Lonny Price.

The Nikos Stage season kicks off June 28 with the world premiere of Jason Kim’s The Model American (June 28–July 9) directed by Danny Sharron and featuring Laila Robins, and also includes the world premiere of Harrison David Rivers' Where Storms Are Born (July 12–23), directed by Tony nominee Liesl Tommy and starring Outer Critics Circle Award nominee Myra Lucretia Taylor, the world premiere of Halley Feiffer's Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow (July 26–August 6) directed by Obie Award winner and Drama Desk nominee Trip Cullman, and Anna Ziegler's Actually (August 9–20), a co-world premiere with Geffen Playhouse, directed by Lileana Blain-Cruz.

Newly announced casting includes the following: Two-time Tony nominee Jayne Atkinson and Cote de Pablo will appear in Ruhl’s The Clean House; Tony nominee Micah Stock is set for Kim’s The Model American and Feiffer’s Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow; Christopher Livingston, LeRoy McClain, and Joniece Abbott-Pratt will perform in Rivers’ Where Storms are Born; Rebecca Henderson will perform in Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow Moscow.


Artistic Director Mandy Greenfield also announced the recipient of the 2017 L. Arnold Weissberger New Play Award, the commissioned artists under the 2017 New Play Commissioning Program, the 2017 Playwright-in-Residence, and the recipients of the newly established James Giddens Musical Theatre Commission.

Heather Raffo is the recipient of the L. Arnold Weissberger New Play Award and The Jay Harris Commission for her play Noura. The artists under the 2017 New Play Commissioning Program include Nathan Alan Davis, Meghan Kennedy, Justin Levine, Bess Wohl, and Big Dance Theatre. Michael R. Jackson will serve as the Festival’s 2017 Playwright-in-Residence, and Marsha Norman and Zoe Sarnak are the recipients of the James Giddens Musical Theatre Commission, established to honor WTF Trustee James Giddens.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!