Tony-Winning The Ferryman Ends on Broadway July 7 | Playbill

Broadway News Tony-Winning The Ferryman Ends on Broadway July 7 Jez Butterworth’s acclaimed play wraps up its limited run at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre.
Brian d’Arcy James and cast of The Ferryman Joan Marcus

Jez Butterworth’s The Ferryman, which opened to acclaim October 2018 at the Bernard B. Jacobs Theatre, concludes its limited Broadway run July 7. In addition to picking up the 2019 Tony Award for Best Play, The Ferryman won the Drama Desk Award for Best Play, a Drama League Award for Outstanding production of a Play, an Outer Critics Circle Award for Outstanding New Play, and was named Best Play by the New York Drama Critics' Circle.

A family and political drama, The Ferryman arrived on Broadway last fall following a hit West End production. The play was directed both times by Sam Mendes, who also took home the Tony for Direction of a Play.

The cast of The Ferryman Joan Marcus


Set in Northern Ireland in the early 1980s, The Ferryman takes place during the Carney farmhouse's annual harvest celebration and feast. The festivities are halted by the arrival of an unexpected visitor and revelations from the past.

The current Broadway cast is made up of Brian d’Arcy James, Holley Fain, Emily Bergl, Fred Applegate, Jackson Arevalo, Glynis Bell, Peter Bradbury, Trevor Harrison Braun, Ava Briglia, Ralph Brown, Will Coombs, Gina Costigan, Charles Dale, Sean Delaney, Jack DiFalco, Ethan Dubin, Fionnula Flanagan, Julian Gamble, Carly Gold, Holly Gould, Shuler Hensley, Terence Keeley, Collin Kelly-Sordelet, Michael Quinton McArthur, Willow McCarthy, Ann McDonough, Bella May Mordus, Julia Nightingale, Griffin Osborne, Brooklyn Shuck, Glenn Speers, Jack Stewart, and Graham Winton.

Following a record-breaking, sold-out debut at London's Royal Court Theatre last spring, The Ferryman transferred to the Gielgud Theatre in London’s West End, where it ended its thrice-extended, year-long run in May. The production won three 2018 Olivier Awards, including Best New Play and Best Director, along with a number of Evening Standard Awards and a U.K. Critics’ Circle Award for Best New Play.


The Broadway production was awarded an additional two Tony Awards (to scenic and lighting designer Rob Howell, who won in both categories), two Theatre World Awards (to Tom Glynn-Carney and Paddy Considine for their performances), three additional Outer Critics Circle Awards (for Costume Design, Direction, and to actor Fionnula Flanagan), another Drama League Award (to actor Considine), and three additional Drama Desks (for director Mendes, actor Glynn-Carney, and sound designer Nick Powell).

Joan Marcus

The Ferryman’s creative team also includes Peter Mumford (lighting design), Powell (original music and sound design), Amy Ball CDG (U.K. casting), Jim Carnahan, C.S.A and Jillian Cimini C.S.A. (U.S. casting), Scarlett Mackmin (choreography), Tim Hoare (associate director), Benjamin Endsley Klein (resident director), Campbell Young Associates (hair, wigs, and makeup design), William Berloni (animal trainer), Terry King (U.K. fight director), Thomas Schall (U.S. fight director), Majella Hurley (U.K. dialect coach), and Deborah Hecht (U.S. dialect coach).

The Ferryman is produced on Broadway by Sonia Friedman Productions & Neal Street Productions with Ronald Frankel, Gavin Kalin Productions, Roy Furman and Ben Lowy, Scott M. Delman, Stephanie P. McClelland, Tulchin Bartner Productions, Ron Kastner, Starry Night Entertainment, Kallish Weinstein Creative, Scott Landis,Steve Traxler, Richard Winkler, Rona Delves Broughton/William Damaschke, 1001 Nights, Burnt Umber Productions, Rupert Gavin, Scott Rudin, Jamie deRoy and Catherine Adler, Sam Levy and Lauren Stevens, and Ramin Sabi and Christopher Ketner.

Photos: Walk Through The Ferryman Set With Scenic Designer Rob Howell

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!