Tony Winner Among Latest Stars Joining Aaron Lazar and Norm Lewis in Stephen Schwartz's Prince of Egypt | Playbill

News Tony Winner Among Latest Stars Joining Aaron Lazar and Norm Lewis in Stephen Schwartz's Prince of Egypt Sag Harbor's Bay Street Theater has announced full casting for its July 11 concert reading of the first act of The Prince of Egypt, a new stage adaptation of the animated 1998 film by Wicked composer and lyricist Stephen Schwartz, who will also be in attendance.

Patina Miller

Joining previously announced leads Aaron Lazar and Norm Lewis, will be Broadway actors Matthew James Thomas (Pippin, Spider-Man Turn Off the Dark), Tony winner Patina Miller (Pippin, Sister Act), Stephen Bogardus (West Side Story, Les Miserables), Julia Murney (Wicked), Kyle Barisich (Phantom of the Opera) and John Treacy Egan (Jekyll & Hyde, The Producers); as well as Ryan Knowles (We Will Rock You!), Joanna Howard (Peter and The Starcatcher), Julia Motyka (Travesties) and Anna Schiavoni.

The Prince of Egypt, based on the film in which an Egyptian prince learns of his true identity, features a book by Philip LaZebnik and music and lyrics by Schwartz. Schwartz won an Academy Award for the song "When You Believe," from the film's score. At a recent press event for the Encores! Off-Center Series staging of A New Brain, Lazar was not able to reveal any details about the upcoming premiere, commenting only that he was very excited and that he had requested a script but was told "We're writing it right now." 

Bay Street’s artistic director Scott Schwartz (the composer's son) will direct the reading, Dominic Amendum is Musical Director and casting is by Stewart/Whitley. Music direction is by Dominic Amendum with casting by Stewart/Whitley.

Co-presented with DreamWorks Theatricals, The Prince of Egypt will be part of the theatre's 24th annual summer gala and will feature a cocktail reception, awards presentation, performance, dinner and an auction. The gala will honor the Hon. Timothy Bishop and playwright, poet and novelist Joe Pintauro.

Along with the principal cast there will be a large chorus of local performers led by choir master Greg Wilson. The chorus includes: Gary Ducoihy, Marquez Catherine Stewart, Nataliz Fulqieri, Vivian Grizzle-Jaber, Pattiz Hulmes, Courtney Kossick, Matt Luca, Austin Myers, Elizabeth Oldak, Ariana Pazz, Katzlyn Piotrowicz, Zack Reily, Sarah Soltysik, Marquez Catherine Stewart, Matt Tursi, Amanda Tuscorella, Carlton Welsh, Christian Wern, Michelle Wern and Greg Wilson. For more information visit BayStreet. To purchase tickets to the gala, call (631) 725-0818.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!