Betty Buckley’s 2-CD Set Story Songs Released April 7 | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Betty Buckley’s 2-CD Set Story Songs Released April 7 The Split star includes anecdotes about Elaine Stritch, Howard DiSilva, and Stephen Bruton on the new album.
Betty Buckley
Betty Buckley

Tony winner Betty Buckley, recently seen in the M. Night Shyamalan film Split, releases her latest solo recording, the two-CD Story Songs, April 7 on the Palmetto Records label.

The first disc, recorded live at the Samueli Theater at the Segerstrom Center for the Arts in Costa Mesa, California, features Christian Jacob on piano, Oz Noy on guitars, Trey Henry on bass, and Ray Brinker on drums. The second disc, taped at Joe’s Pub at the Public Theater in New York, features Jacob on piano, Noy on guitars, Tony Marino on bass, and Todd Isler on drums.

The complete track listing follows:

Disc 1
1) “You’ve Got To Be Carefully Taught” – Music by Richard Rodgers and lyrics by Oscar Hammerstein II, from South Pacific
2) “Cassandra” – Music and lyrics by Jason Robert Brown
3) “High & Dry” – Music and lyrics by Radiohead
4) “Chanson” – Music and lyrics by Stephen Schwartz, from The Baker’s Wife
5) “All Things In Time” – Music and lyrics by Jason Robert Brown
6) “Old Flame” – Music and lyrics by Joe Iconis
7) “Another Life” – Music and lyrics by Jason Robert Brown, from The Bridges of Madison County
8) “Prayer in Open D” – Music and lyrics by Emmylou Harris
9) “September Song” – Music by Kurt Weill and lyrics by Maxwell Anderson, from Knickerbocker Holiday
10) “Don’t Give Up” – Music and lyrics by Peter Gabriel
11) “Throw It Away” – Music and lyrics by Abbey Lincoln

Disc 2
1) ”How Long Has This Been Going On?” Piano solo – Music by George Gershwin and lyrics by Ira Gershwin
2) ”Practical Arrangement” – Music and lyrics by Sting
3) Stephen Bruton Story
4) ”Too Many Memories” – Music and lyrics by Stephen Bruton
5) ”Bird on A Wire” – Music and lyrics by Leonard Cohen
6) Howard DiSilva Story
7) ”Both Sides Now” – Music and lyrics by Joni Mitchell
8) Elaine Stritch Story
9) ”I’m Still Here” – Music and lyrics by Stephen Sondheim


Buckley offered singular performances in Broadway's Sunset Boulevard, Carrie, Song & Dance, The Mystery of Edwin Drood, 1776, Triumph of Love, and Promises, Promises. She won a Tony Award for her performance as Grizabella in the Broadway production of Cats, and she starred on the London stage in Promises, Promises, Dear World, and Sunset Boulevard, earning an Olivier Award nomination for her work in the latter.

For more information visit

Read more about Betty Buckley's career at the Playbill Vault.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting with your ad blocker.
Thank you!