Celebrate the Chicago Revival’s 25th Anniversary With a Look Back at Its Original Cast | Playbill

Photos Celebrate the Chicago Revival’s 25th Anniversary With a Look Back at Its Original Cast The Tony-winning production, the longest-running revival ever on Broadway, opened November 14, 1996.
Ann Reinking and Bebe Neuwirth Dan Chavkin

The Tony Award-winning revival of Chicago celebrates its 25th anniversary after opening at the Richard Rodgers Theatre November 14, 199. It would transfer to the Sam S. Shubert Theatre the following year before moving to its current home at the Ambassador Theatre in 2003. The production earned eight Tony Award nominations, winning six including Best Revival of a Musical.

Following an 18-month hiatus due to the COVID-19 pandemic, the revival returned to Broadway September 14, 2021. The production is the second-longest running show in Broadway history (after The Phantom of the Opera) and the longest-running American show in Broadway history.

Set in razzle-dazzle decadence of the 1920s, Chicago tells the story of the media frenzie that occurs when Roxie Hart, a housewife and nightclub dancer, murders her on-the-side lover after he threatens to walk out on her. The musical, featuring music by John Kander, lyrics by Fred Ebb, and book by Ebb and Bob Fosse, first opened on Broadway in 1975.

Look Back at the Original Broadway Revival Cast of Chicago

The original cast for the revival starred Ann Reinking as Roxie Hart, Bebe Neuwirth as Velma Kelly, Joel Grey as Amos Hart, James Naughton as Billy Flynn, Marcia Lewis as Matron "Mama" Morton, D. Sabella-Mills as Mary Sunshine, Michael Berreesse as Fred Casely, Jim Borstelmann as the Judge, Caitlin Carter as Mona, Bruce Anthony Davis as Martin Harrison/Doctor, Mamie Duncan-Gibbs as Annie, Denise Faye as Liz, David Warren-Gibson as Aaron, Michael Kubala as Sergeant Fogarty/Juror, Mary Ann Lamb as June, John Mineo as the Court Clerk/Bailiff, Tina Paul as Hunyak, Rocker Verastique as Harry, and Leigh Zimmerman as Go-To-Hell-Kitty. Rounding out the company were Nancy Hess as the standby Velma Kelly/Roxie Hart, Mindy Cooper and Luis Perez as swings, and J. Loeffelholz as the Mary Sunshine understudy.

The production features scenic design by John Lee Beatty, costume design by William Ivey Long, lighting design by Ken Billington, and sound design by Scott Lehrer with stage management by Clifford Schwartz, Terreence J. Witter, and Mindy Farbrother. For the complete cast and creative team, visit PlaybillVault.com/Chicago.

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!