2023 Roger Rees Awards Winners Announced | Playbill

Awards 2023 Roger Rees Awards Winners Announced

The 13th annual ceremony honoring New York City-area high school performers was held May 21.

The Roger Rees Awards

Tatum Hopkins of Nyack High School and Calvin Lindo of Archbishop Stepinac High School were named winners of the Outstanding Performer award at the 13th Annual Roger Rees Awards May 21.

Hopkins was recognized for her performance as Audrey in Little Shop of Horrors, and Lindo for his performance as Frankie Valli in Jersey Boys.

Also receiving awards were Lauren Marchand of Jericho High School for her performance as Elsa in Frozen, and Tyler Turetsky of Roslyn High School for his performance as Crutchie in Newsies. They were both named Emerging Artist winners.

Named in memory of the Tony-winning actor and director, the Roger Rees Awards honor the best in NYC-area high school theatre, with two winners moving on to compete at the National High School Musical Theatre Awards, known as The Jimmy Awards, set for June 26 at Broadway's Minskoff Theatre.

This year, Marchand and Lindo will represent the Roger Rees Awards and the Greater New York area at the 2023 Jimmys. Marchand is stepping in for Hopkins, as Hopkins was just cast in the workshop production of The Queen of Versailles. Traditionally, the two Outstanding Performer winners would be selected to represent.

Also recognized at this year's Roger Rees Awards was Farmingdale High School’s choral group Daler A Cappella. The 15 members and their music director Jessica Mischke were recognized with the Harmony Helper Award for Outstanding Choral Performance Award from the Goren Family Foundation.

Winners were chosen by a panel of industry professionals including Tony nominee and Parade director Michael Arden, Disney Theatrical Group's Kiara Brown Clark, Tony Award-winning producer Greg Nobel, Tara Rubin Casting's Merri Sugarman, Tony Award-winning composer Jeanine Tesori, and Fairleigh Dickinson University faculty member Cynthia Thole.

The Roger Rees Awards are presented by The Broadway Education Alliance with support from Disney Theatrical Group, Broadway Plus, Broadway HD, Douglas Denoff, Rick Elice, Nancy Nagel Gibbs, Harmony Helper, Kimberly Akimbo on Broadway, Music Theatre International, National Foundation of Musical Theatre, Theatrical Rights Worldwide, Withum and other industry leaders.

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!