Aaron Lazar Collaborates With Josh Groban, Kristin Chenoweth, Leslie Odom Jr., More on Impossible Dream Album to Benefit ALS Network | Playbill

Cast Recordings & Albums Aaron Lazar Collaborates With Josh Groban, Kristin Chenoweth, Leslie Odom Jr., More on Impossible Dream Album to Benefit ALS Network

A Broadway mainstay for over two decades, Lazar was diagnosed with the neurodegenerative disease in 2022.

Aaron Lazar

Broadway actor Aaron Lazar will release a new album, Impossible Dream, August 16. The record follows Lazar's announcement that he has amyotrophic lateral sclerosis (ALS).

The collaborative record will raise funds for the ALS Network, which previously honored Lazar for his advocacy.

Developed by Emitha Studios and Studio 7 Media, the new album will feature Lazar as well as a number of his Broadway collaborators, including Neil Patrick Harris, Josh Groban, Kristin Chenoweth, Kelli O’Hara, Leslie Odom, Jr., Norm Lewis, Loren Allred, the voice of the late Rebecca Luker (the Broadway favorite who passed away from ALS), the Grammy-winning National Children's Chorus, the Broadway Inspirational Voices, and more.

Lazar has adopted "The Impossible Dream" from Man of La Mancha as his mantra through his diagnosis. Said Lazar in a statement, “I first sang ‘The Impossible Dream’ 24 years ago as a grad student in Cincinnati playing Don Quixote in The Man of La Mancha, as my impossible dream of becoming a professional actor was coming true. All these years later, the song and its message have become an anthem for me. This album is incredibly special, not just because it is my debut album but also because it is an extraordinary opportunity to celebrate what I’m learning: we all have the power within us to make the impossible possible, and we help each other heal. My heart is so full to work with such truly magnificent artists and friends. I thank them and the Broadway community for their incredible love and support. As we raise awareness to end ALS, I hope fans of Broadway and music will enjoy this Impossible Dream come true!”

The album will culminate in a star-studded group performance of "The Impossible Dream," featuring the aforementioned performers as well as Lin-Manuel Miranda, Brian Stokes Mitchell, Liz Callaway, Joanna Gleason, Brian d'Arcy James, Adrienne Warren, Shoshana Bean, Christy Altomare, Christiane Noll, Adam Jacobs, and more.

Lazar, who has been a Broadway mainstay for two decades, made his debut as an understudy for the role of Raoul in The Phantom of the Opera, subsequently appearing as Sam Carmichael in Mamma Mia!, both Joe and Curly in the 2002 revival of Oklahoma!, Fabrizio Naccarelli in The Light in the Piazza, Enjolras in the 2006 revival of Les Misérables, Charles Darnay in A Tale of Two Cities, Ben Joplin in Impressionism, Count Carl-Magnus Malcolm in the 2009 revival of A Little Night Music, and Arthur Millburn in The Last Ship.

In recent years, Lazar has also become a respected figure on numerous regional stages, performing in Bridges of Madison Country opposite Kate Baldwin, Fun Home opposite Christiane Noll, and in the starry Los Angeles revival of The Secret Garden, opposite Sierra Boggess.

A portion of the proceeds from the nine-track collection, co-produced and arranged by Grammy winner Kitt Wakeley and co-produced by Estabrooks and Lazar, will benefit the ALS Network.

In addition to Wakeley and Estabrooks, the album is produced by engineer Dave Reitzas, engineer Tre Nagella, composer Jason Robert Brown, arranger Charlie Rosen, engineer Brian Vibberts, arranger Larry Blank, arranger Joe Block, vocal producer and arranger David Das, engineer and producers Christina Giacona and Patrick Conlon of Onyx Lane, engineers Chris Benham and Cat Ever, assistant engineers Carlos Rodriguez and Chaz Sexton, vocal coach and choral engineer Bryan Estabrooks, line producer Sydney Anderson, arranger Jordan Seigel, associate producers John Riesen and Gillian Riesen, and choral conductors Allen René Louis and Luke McEndarfer. 

The band features Joe Block, Jay Sawyer, Sam Weber, Marc Malsegna, Sterling Cozza, Brian Byrne, Mitch Bell, Rei Bowen, David Bowen, David Das, and the Onyx Lane Chamber Orchestra. The album is A&R’d by musician, actor, writer, and SiriusXM radio host Seth Rudetsky.

For more information, visit EmithaStudios.com

Today’s Most Popular News:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!