28th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Presented April 1 in Los Angeles | Playbill

News 28th Annual GLAAD Media Awards Presented April 1 in Los Angeles A separate ceremony will be held in New York May 6.
Ivy Levan, Tim Curry, Adam Lambert, Annaleigh Ashford, Staz Nair, Laverne Cox, Ryan McCartan, Victoria Justice, Christina Milian, Reeve Carney and Ben Vereen Miranda Penn Turin/FOX

The 28th Annual GLAAD Media Awards, which recognize and honor media for their fair, accurate, and inclusive representations of the LGBTQ community and the issues that affect their lives, are presented April 1 at The Beverly Hilton. Cameron Esposito hosts. Honorees and special guests include Tony winner Cynthia Erivo, playwright Tarell Alvin McCraney, Matthew Daddario, Victoria Justice, Josh Hutcherson, Tatiana Maslany, and Harry Shum Jr.

A separate ceremony will be held in New York May 6 at the New York Hilton Midtown.

Fox-TV’s revamp of The Rocky Horror Picture Show, which was broadcast October 20, 2016, is among the nominees for the GLAAD Media Awards, which also fund GLAAD's work to accelerate acceptance of the LGBTQ community.

The Rocky Horror Picture Show: Let’s Do the Time Warp Again, which starred Laverne Cox as Dr. Frank-N-Furter, Tim Curry as Criminologist Narrator, Victoria Justice as Janet Weiss, Ryan McCartan as Brad Majors, Reeve Carney as Riff Raff, Christina Milian as Magenta, Annaleigh Ashford as Columbia, Adam Lambert as Eddie, Staz Nair as Rocky Horror, Ben Vereen as Dr. Everett Scott, and Ivy Levan as Usherette, is nominated for Outstanding TV Movie or Limited Series.

Others nominated in that category include Eyewitness (USA Network), London Spy (BBC America), Looking: The Movie (HBO), and Vicious: The Finale (PBS).

Among the other 156 nominees: Academy Award and Golden Globe winner Moonlight; Film Independent Spirit Award nominees Other People and Spa Night; ABC’s The Real O’Neals and Black-ish; The CW’s Crazy Ex-Girlfriend and Supergirl; Netflix’s The OA, Grace and Frankie, Black Mirror, and Easy; Amazon’s Transparent and One Mississippi; Starz’s Survivor’s Remorse; USA Network’s Eyewitness; Cartoon Network's Steven Universe; Nickelodeon's The Loud House; Oxygen’s Strut; Brandy Clark for her Grammy-nominated Big Day in a Small Town album; and Frank Ocean for his album Blonde, among many others.

“For nearly 30 years, the GLAAD Media Awards have set the bar for media representations of LGBTQ people," said GLAAD President & CEO Sarah Kate Ellis in an earlier statement. “At a time when progress is at a critical juncture, it is imperative that Hollywood tell more LGBTQ stories that reflect the community’s rich diversity – and build understanding that brings all communities closer together. This year's nominees have created images and storylines that challenge misconceptions and broaden understanding, accelerating acceptance and equality for LGBTQ people across the globe.”

The 28th Annual GLAAD Media Awards nominees were published, released, or broadcast between January 1 and December 31, 2016.

Click here for a complete list of nominees.


(Updated April 1, 2017)

Recommended Reading:

Blocking belongs
on the stage,
not on websites.

Our website is made possible by
displaying online advertisements to our visitors.

Please consider supporting us by
whitelisting playbill.com with your ad blocker.
Thank you!